Grandma Medicine- It’s Good For The Soul

Standard

Since the beginning of injections we have been using the mindset of grandma medicine. Our acupuncturist stressed the need for soul-nourishing foods. Since we started trying to convince we have adopted a more clean-eating lifestyle, more whole foods, less non-vegetable, non-fruit carbs and just healthier eating. Now we are certainly not perfect by any means, we both love exploring and finding new places to eat, and sometimes you just want carbs, but overall have been pretty much eating the best farm-fresh foods we can find.

We have always read that eating warm foods and drinking warm beverages after the transfer was best, but our amazing acupuncturist said that we should start with the grandma medicine, soul- nourishing, soul-warming foods now. So we did, at the start of our injections we have had nothing but warm, hot foods.

Here are a few recipes that Tiffany has made for dinners that end up as left-over’s for lunch:

Healing Lemongrass soup: http://www.forageddish.com/blog/2015/1/11/healing-lemongrass-soup

Hearty Chicken Soup with Rice and Kale: http://www.theroastedroot.net/hearty-chicken-soup-rice-kale/

Beef Stew: http://flavorite.net/2015/12/04/classic-beef-stew/

Parmesan Broth with Lemon, Chicken, Spinach: http://blog.williams-sonoma.com/parmesan-broth-with-lemon-chicken-spinach

IMG_9928

Spinach Tomato Tortellini Soup

Spinach Tomato Tortellini Soup: http://damndelicious.net/2014/09/06/spinach-tomato-tortellini-soup

Chicken and Dumplings: http://eatathomecooks.com/homemade-chicken-

and-dumplings-its-easy-really/

Ginger Poached Chicken Broth Soup: http://www.astackofdishes.com/ginger-poached-chicken-broth-soup/

Simple Potato Soup: http://www.target.com/r/recipes/simple-potato-soup-recip

Thai Dumpling Soup: http://kokocooks.com/2012/11/thai-wonton-soup/

IMG_9936

Thai Dumpling Soup

For the dumplings- we used premade, organic chicken frozen dumplings from Costco.

Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup: This one we have no recipe for, we cheated. We bought an organic vegetable barley soup from Costco that we have had in the freezer and added some fresh grilled chicken breast.

Any of the recipes above that do not have any meat in them we added organic chicken breast to.

We used Organic Chicken broth from Costco, they have a six pack for relatively inexpensive and we have gone through about 8 cartons of the chicken broth so far.

For breakfast it is a mix of waffles, eggs, turkey bacon, oatmeal with nuts and fruit.

We are trying our best to make sure things are warm, cooked through and balanced. So far we are enjoying it. It helps that it has been quite rainy and chilly the past couple weeks.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s